Better an also ran than not at all

      Comments Off on Better an also ran than not at all

The top 50 influencing Canadian foreign policy


  • Justin Trudeau, prime minister
  • Chrystia Freeland, deputy prime minister and finance minister
  • Mélanie Joly, foreign affairs minister
  • Anita Anand, defence minister
  • Mary Ng, international trade minister
  • Marco Mendicino, public safety minister
  • François-Philippe Champagne, innovation, science, and industry minister
  • Omar Alghabra, transport minister
  • Harjit Sajjan, international development minister
  • Karina Gould, families, children, and social development minister
  • Michael Chong, Conservative foreign affairs critic
  • Hassan Yussuff, Independent Senator

Political staffers

  • Katie Telford, PMO chief of staff
  • Brian Clow, PMO deputy chief of staff
  • Patrick Travers, PMO senior global affairs policy adviser
  • Oz Jungic, PMO policy adviser
  • Elise Wagner, PMO policy adviser for Canada-U.S. relations and issues management
  • Jeremy Broadhurst, PMO senior adviser
  • Sandra Aubé, chief of staff to the foreign affairs minister
  • Chantal Gagnon, deputy chief of staff to the foreign affairs minister
  • Jason Easton, chief of staff to the international trade minister
  • Jillian White, policy director to the international trade minister

Civil Servants

  • Dan Costello, foreign and defence policy adviser to the prime minister
  • David Morrison, deputy minister for international trade and G7 sherpa
  • Jody Thomas, national security and intelligence adviser to the prime minister
  • Marta Morgan, deputy minister of foreign affairs
  • Janice Charette, clerk of the Privy Council and secretary to the cabinet
  • Bill Matthews, deputy minister of national defence
  • Wayne Eyre, chief of the defence staff
  • Steve Verheul, special adviser to the deputy minister of finance
  • John Hannaford, deputy minister of natural resources
  • David Vigneault, CSIS director


  • Kirsten Hillman, ambassador to the United States
  • Bob Rae, ambassador and permanent representative to the United Nations
  • Ailish Campbell, ambassador to the European Union
  • Ralph Goodale, high commissioner to the United Kingdom
  • Larisa Galadza, ambassador to Ukraine
  • Jacqueline O’Neill, ambassador for Women, Peace, and Security
  • David Cohen, U.S. ambassador to Canada
  • Susannah Goshko, U.K. high commissioner to Canada
  • Sabine Sparwasser, German ambassador to Canada

Civil society and others

  • Maryscott Greenwood, CEO of Canadian American Business Council
  • Flavio Volpe, president of Automotive Parts Manufacturers Association
  • Alexandra Chyczij/Ihor Michalchyshyn, president and CEO of the Ukrainian Canadian Congress
  • Irwin Cotler, former Liberal cabinet minister and human rights advocate
  • Frédéric Mérand/Laurence Deschamps-Laporte, academics
  • Thomas Juneau, academic
  • Robert Fife/Steven Chase, Globe and Mail reporters
  • Mark MacKinnon, Globe and Mail international correspondent
  • Alex Panetta/Katie Simpson, CBC reporters

    Honourable mentions 

    • Bill Blair, emergency preparedness minister
    • Sean Fraser, immigration minister
    • Robert Oliphant, parliamentary secretary to the foreign affairs minister
    • Jonathan Fried, former diplomat
    • Louise Blais, former diplomat
    • Colin Robertson, former diplomat
    • Roland Paris, academic and former PMO foreign policy adviser
    • Shelly Bruce, Communications Security Establishment chief
    • Ratna Omidvar, Independent Senator
    • Goldy Hyder, Business Council of Canada president